Monash Undergraduate Prize for Creative Writing shortlist announced

Out of 437 impressive entries to the Monash Prize 15 have been chosen for our shortlist.

Drumroll. Our shortlisted entries to the 2017 Monash Undergraduate Prize for Creative Writing are:

Aimee-Jane Anderson-O’Connor, Femina
Shayna Andrews, Unmoored
Lauren Burridge, Glass
Samantha Dent, The Space Cadet
Travis Franks, Swansong
Fi Fraser, The Ship of Theseus
Ann Jackson, The  Lady Who Walks
Jamie Marina Lau, Shooting Star
Bonnie Muhling, Girl, Thunderstruck
Melody Reynauld, Midas
Cordelia Rice, Embers
Nicole Stephens, Scar Tissue
Neroli Thomas, The Climb
Sean Weaver, Galatea
Nicola West, The Fight

This year’s prize will be judged by Julie Koh (author of short story collection Portable Curiosities), Khalid Warsame (fiction editor of The Lifted Brow) and Rebecca Do Rozario (Monash University).

Stay tuned for the announcement of the winners on opening night of the Emerging Writers’ Festival; June 14, 2017. The winning entry will be awarded $4,000. The highest place Monash University entry will win $1,000. Find more information about the Monash Prize here.